CELIAC DISEASE RECOMMENDATIONS

        Eat fresh vegetables, legumes (such as lentils, beans, and peas), rice bran, nuts, sunflower seeds, figs, and “seedy” fruits, such as strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Include in the diet blackstrap molasses, which is high in iron and the B vitamins. People with celiac disease need fiber and foods rich in iron and the B vitamins.

 

Do not eat sugary products, processed foods, dairy products, bouillon cubes, chocolate, and bottled salad dressings.

 

Celiac disease causes malabsorption of the B vitamins and the fat-soluble vitamins (vitamins A, D, E, and K), so take these nutrients. Note that gluten is found in many nutritional supplements. Read labels carefully, and use supplements that are hypoallergenic, wheat-free, and yeast-free.

 

If a child develops any of the symptoms of celiac disease, omit all gluten-containing foods from the child’s diet and see if the problems clears up. Eliminate milk, as lactose intolerance can occur with celiac disease. The disease can begin in the first few months of life, depending on the child’s diet.

 

Avoid any and all foods that contain gluten. Do not eat any products that contain barley, oats, rye, or wheat. Rice and corn can be eaten. Substitute rice, potato, cornmeal, and soy flour for wheat flour. Read all labels carefully. Watch for “hidden” sources of gluten, such as hydrolyzed vegetables protein, textured vegetable protein, hydrolyzed plant protein, and all derivatives of wheat, rye, oats, and barley, including malt, modified food starch, some soy sauces, grain vinegars, binders, fillers, excipients, and “natural, and “natural flavoring.’ Do not consume hot dogs, gravies, luncheon meat, beer, mustard, catsup, nondairy creamer, white vinegar, curry powder, or seasonings. Gluten-free products are available at health food stores.